The Messy Middle Summer of 2022

Episode 416 Aired Wednesday, Sept 14, 2022

Last week I shared what led me to having to step back from so many things this past summer. I shared what I said no to and what doing that did to me. 

I made it a point to reconnect with making art. This was something I had not done outside my sketchbook in years, maybe decades. Meaning I was making something that was purposeless, or just for me. I call this the messy middle and honestly it is part of every single project. 

I have been a professional designer for over 25 years. When I am learning something new I have high high expectations of myself (yes I meant two highs there). 

I don’t think it should be ugly. I don’t want my first attempt or 50th attempt to look so bad but it does. I had to come to grips with that. I also have to accept that everything doesn’t get finished in one sitting. Sometimes I have to sit with it for a while.

I worked with two people this summer that helped me to see different things in myself. Working with them helped me to be able to adapt and acknowledge things in myself. Sometimes it was where I needed more work or reflection, sometimes it was to see growth that I could not see. 

The two people were Anat Rodan (she spoke at Camp 2021 and was on the podcast last summer) who helped me with the art process and figuring out my markers of fear and how to recognize them for what they were. And Mario Quezada (been at both camps and a regular guest on the podcast) who helped me with remember who God says I am, helping me to simplify and uncover my foundational identity to reveal who God called me to be and what He wants me to do. 

Both of these are amazing coaches and currently have open spots in their coaching. If you are struggling like me, maybe they can help you too. Their names are links above.

I hope you can learn from my messy middle. I learned a lot about myself this summer and what has been holding me back. I began the journey of conquering or at least attacking some of these limiting mindsets, for sure stage one was recognizing them. 

Come a little early and introduce yourself in the chat, tell us where you are located in the world and say hey! 

I hope you’ll join me this Wednesday, Sept 14 at 7:30pm BST / 2:30pm ET / 11:30am PT / 8:30am in Hawaii.

To get the link, sign up here.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.