Sandi Hester // Sketchbooks as Process Tools

Episode 423 LIVE on Wed, Nov 9, 2022

Sandi Hester is an artist and has a fantastic channel on YouTube called “Bits of an Artist’s Life.” I found her this summer and she was just the medicine I needed.

She is always growing and trying new things in her art. Sandi’s process really struck me because she takes limited tools out and does many variations on one scene. She uses her sketchbook as a process tool. While she is on location, she takes visual notes of a place then once back in the studio on the bigger canvas she takes all her visual notes and constructs a larger painting.

I know we do sketches as designers but for some reason her process seemed different and more freeing to me. She was able to explore and seems to always know something else can fix it. She doesn’t seem to get caught up in the deadline or the fact that she already made a background. She embraces the fact that she can paint over it and start again.

This starting over or the ability to fix it was exactly what I needed to hear this summer. I am so excited to introduce you to my new friend, Sandi Hester. We are going to talk about how her faith plays a role in her artist’s journey. And how her sketchbooks are used in her process.

It’ll be a fun conversation. I hope you can come LIVE, Wednesday, Nov 9, 2022 at 2:30pm ET / 7:30pm GMT / 11:30am PT / 9:30am in Hawaii.

To get the link for the live taping sign up here: https://rechargingyou.com/signup

A Workout for Your Imagination

These Creative Calisthenics worksheets will get you to exercise your imagination a few minutes each day for the next month.
https://rechargingyou.com/imaginember/

Learn More about Sandi

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/sandihester

Insta: https://instagram.com/sandihesterart @sandihesterart

Classes: https://sandihesterclasses.com/

Website: https://www.sandihester.com/

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.